Christmas Soup

christmas-soup.jpg

1 can petite diced tomatoes with garlic, basil and olive oil
1 can petite diced tomatoes with green chiles (Rotel)
½ lb Velveeta cut into slices
4 cups vegetable or chicken stock (I used Chicken because it is what I had)
1 cup sour cream
1 12 oz box tricolor rotini
I wanted extra veggies so I chopped up broccoli, carrots and cauliflower (slightly steamed)

I planned to cook this on the stovetop, but as our plans for the day changed, I used the crockpot. Add broth and both can of tomatoes. Let tomatoes soften, whisk in sour cream. Mix well and add Velveeta. Cook on high for 1 hour. You can add pasta to crockpot, but my noodles got too mushy and soft for my taste. I recommend cooking the noodles, draining and adding to soup mixture. I added my veggies and mixed well. Cook on low until cheese is melted. Top with crushed red pepper flakes and basil. It looks like Christmas and tastes like a warm bowl of queso with noodles.

Leave a comment