Beef Enchiladas

enchilada
This used to be one of my go to meals. I forgot how good they were until recently. I made a pan for my neighbor when she had her baby and her little girl told me, “I could work at a Mexican restaurant.” That’s kind of my feelings about this dish. Why go out when you can make it at home? Plus we have leftovers for days.

1/2 lb ground beef cooked
1 /2 cup frozen sweet corn
1 can Rotel
1 packet of taco seasoning (You can make your own too)
1 can Red Enchilada Sauce
Tortillas ( I used 1 pack of 12 and 6 from another package
1-2 cups shredded Mexican cheese (depending how much cheese you like)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Brown ground beef in skillet until meat is cooked through. Add taco seasoning and water as listed on package. Mix well to coat seasoning evenly. Add frozen corn and Rotel to meat mixture. Stir well. Let tomatoes and corn cook and sauce to simmer. Add a handful of shredded cheese to thicken sauce. Spoon meat mixture into individual tortillas. Roll and fold in edges. Place seam side down in large baking dish. (You can pour sauce into bottom of pan before placing rolled enchiladas on top. My family thinks they get too soggy this way) I add shredded cheese to cover all rolled enchiladas and then pour enchilada sauce on top. Bake in oven 20-30 minutes. I like to cover with foil and freeze for easy dinners on busy nights. I make Mexican rice and top with sour cream. It is such an easy recipe and makes for great leftovers.

Leave a comment