Easy Breakfast Casserole

bfastcasserole

I don’t know about you but Christmas is crazy for us. I needed a quick casserole that I just had to heat up Christmas morning. I cooked everything the day before, but added the egg mixture and cheese the next morning. It worked out great and it baked while we opened our presents. It’s definitely something I will be making in the future.

½ lb. Italian sausage (I had some browned and in the freezer)

1 onion diced

4-5 slices of thin deli ham

Handful of spinach-in small pieces

½ bag of Potatoes O’Brien

3-4 mushrooms sliced

5-6 eggs

1/3 cup milk

2 cups cheese of your choice (I used mozzarella, Monterrey cheddar and topped with parmesan

Since my sausage was cooked ahead of time, I just heated it up. If you use uncooked sausage, you need to cook until brown and crumbling. Drain and set aside. Sautee onion and potatoes O’Brien until potatoes are cooked. Add ham, mushrooms, spinach and any other veggies you want to include. Add ½ cup of cheese and cooked sausage and combine well. I seasoned mine with Mrs. Dash, cayenne pepper, paprika, garlic powder and black pepper. You can use whatever seasonings you would like. Pour into an 11x 7 inch or 9×9 inch baking dish. Meanwhile in a separate bowl, whisk together eggs, milk and black pepper(I used more Mrs. Dash and garlic powder with the pepper) Pour egg mixture over casserole try to distribute it evenly. Top with cheese and bake for 20-30 minutes at 375 degrees.

Leave a comment